The thing that I like about being in a book club is that it makes me do things I wouldn’t do. Not only does it force me to read books that I wouldn’t normally choose for myself. (I choose weird, old stuff to read like James Joyce’s Ulysses and Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar, while the ladies in my book club pick lighter fare, such as Nicholas Sparks’ Dear John, or Jodi Picoult’s The Pact.) It also gets me talking about reading, relationships, literacy, and life with people different from those who I normally talk with, and today, it got my out seeing a movie that I wouldn’t have chosen for myself.

The Lovely Bones

Even though I read the book, if it were up to me, we’d have watched Sherlock Holmes today, or (don’t judge me) It’s Complicated.

And I hate to be the girl who’s all, you know, “the book was better.”

But it totally was.

