Lately, the apartment has been looking kind of . . . well . . .

. . . yeah . . .

So, last night, I was proactive, and sat down with my partner in crime to come up with a solution. Weekly chores. Accountability. A checklist of sorts. It has just kind of worked out that he does the cooking, and I do the laundry. We both actually like that stuff. But there are so many other things! And these other things just get done, well, whenever we do them — usually, when people are coming over. That’s probably not super-sanitary. So, here’s what we came up with:

Hers

  • sweep and mop tile floors (bathroom, kitchen, entryway)
  • clean bathroom toilet, shower, and sink

His

  • vacuum carpet
  • dust furniture
  • clean kitchen counters

I know, I know. There are so many other things! Windows, mirrors, the fridge, the microwave. It all gets dirty, and unless I plan to clean it, I just don’t. But you have to start somewhere. I thought that maybe, by posting this new weekly to-do list, I would feel more accountable for it. I love my husband, but I know he isn’t going to say anything to me if I don’t do what I said I would. Noticing a dirty bathroom sink, or at least caring about it, seems to be more of a girl thing . . .

