For Christmas last year, I asked for cookbooks. In my family, on both sides, cooking is very much central to family life. As you can imagine, my cookbook shelf is now loaded up. My mom gave me this book, which she used a lot while I was growing up.

Good ol’ Laurel’s got all kinds of helpful nutritional information about what to eat and when to eat it, and I’ll spare you the details for now, but I do want to share her best (in my opinion) breakfast treat: homemade granola. It’s so easy, you’ll wonder why you ever paid $4.00 for a tiny/stale box of the stuff.

Ingredients

This is just the super-duper basics. I like to mix it up. I add some brown sugar for sweetness, and I play around with the dried fruits.

Craisins are my favorite, but I really want to try dried pineapple. Mix and match is definitely the way to go.For nuts, I’m a fan of almonds, but I figure anything works. This time, I added a tablespoon of peanut-butter to the mix, which turned out deliciously.

Instructions

Basically, you just toast the oats and the nuts, and then stir everything together. When the mixture is fully combined, let it sit until it is completely cool. Then, seal it up and store it in the fridge for a tasty breakfast or snack with yogurt or milk later. For extra crispy granola, stir some honey into the oats before you toast them.

Yum! Maybe next time I feel like blogging about kitchen adventures I’ll share another favorite breakfast recipe from Laurel’s Kitchen: whole wheat pancakes with wheat germ!

