I smiled and put the book in the drawer of my night stand for about six months.

Now, with the snow on the ground, work on hold, and an immaculate (well, almost) apartment, I find myself engrossed in the adventure of Arthur, one of the (presumably) two survivors of what used to be planet Earth. I have to admit, at first Adams’ writing style annoyed me. It was as if he was constantly reminding me how dang funny he was. Like, “Oh, here’s a clever little joke. Don’t you just hate bureaucracy? Who doesn’t? Oh, here’s another one! Good heavens, I’m funny! Did I tell you I’m British? Yes, we do have a rather dry sense of humor, don’t we? Ooh, now I’ll make a joke about tea! Yes. That’s funny, because I’m British, you know.”

Maybe I’m just jealous. I mean, I want to be a funny writer! Of course, being American, I do have an obstacle there. British writers just have it easier when it comes to clever, dry humor.

Anyway, after about 50 pages of being amazed/jealous/beat-over-the-head with Adams’ writing style, I settled into it, and started to be impressed with the cleverness in the plot — the story itself. Such great connections, ideas, and, yes, running jokes. I finished the first of the five novels yesterday, and, since I don’t have to work, it looks like I’ll be reading another today between loads of laundry. Oh, the glamorous life!

Here’s a little snippet of what the first book is about. Basically, five minutes before the secret of the universe is unlocked, everything is ruined . . .

And then, one Thursday, nearly two thousand years after one man had been nailed to a tree for saying how great it would be to be nice to people for a change, one girl sitting on her own in a small cafe in Rickmansworth suddenly realized what it was that had been going wrong all this time, and she finally knew how the world could be made a good and happy place. This time it was right, it would work, and no one would have to get nailed to anything.
Sadly, however, before she could get to a phone to tell anyone about it, a terribly stupid catastrophe occurred, and the idea was lost forever.

