My mom knows her way around the kitchen, and so does Vegetarian Times. These burritos, made with basmati rice and topped with thinly shredded mozzarella, are better (Yes. I said it. Better.) than any Chipotle burrito I have ever tasted.

Black Bean and Rice Burritos from Vegetarian Times Magazine

1 c. uncooked basmati or quick-cooking brown rice
12 6-inch flour tortillas
16-oz. can cooked black beans (including bean liquid)
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tomato, chopped
1/4 c. chopped onion
1 to 2 tsp. chili powder or to taste
1/2 tsp. ground cumin or to taste
Chopped green onions and salsa for garnish

Also, we like to sprinkle shredded cheese on top of the beans (mozzarella is good but you could use any cheese you like).  Of course, this adds to the fat and calorie count and it is not a vegan recipe any more – unless you use soy cheese.

Cook rice according to package directions.  Set aside.  Wrap tortillas in aluminum foil and place in a 200-degree oven to warm.  Combine beans, bean liquid, garlic, tomato, onion, chili powder and cumin in a saucepan; simmer until tomato begins to soften, about 5 minutes.

Remove tortillas from oven.  Place a heaping tablespoon of rice and 1 to 2 tablespoons of bean mixture in a warm tortilla.  Garnish with green onions and salsa, and roll up like a burrito.  Makes 12 burritos.

Variation: Omit tortillas and serve beans over rice.

Honestly, I have never embarked on the adventure of making them myself — mostly because I get invited over to my mom’s to eat them.

My mom’s really nice, but since she probably won’t invite you over, I thought I’d post the recipe.

