These snack bars are sweet, hearty, and filling. They combine two of my favorite flavors.

honey

and peanut butter

I stole the recipe from Smucker’s. Go figure.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups crispy rice cereal
  • 3 cups toasted oat cereal
  • 1 1/2 cups raisins
  • 1/2 cup sunflower nuts
  • 1 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 (16 oz) jar natural peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (optional)

(before you add the peanut butter honey mixture)

Instructions

  1. Combine cereal, raisins, sunflower nuts (and chocolate chips) in a large bowl.
  2. Combine honey and sugar in a medium pan; heat over medium heat 3 — 5 minutes or until mixture comes to a boil. Boil 1 minute.
  3. Add peanut butter and vanilla; stir until peanut butter is melted.
  4. Pour over cereal mixture; mix well.
  5. Press mixture into a greased 15x10x1 inch baking pan. When cook, cut into 1 1/2 inch squares. Makes 5 dozen bars.

(cooling in the fridge so we can eat them SOON!)

When I get hungry, I’m insufferable. If I find out I’m going somewhere on short notice, this is always a good option. These bars are filling enough to keep me from getting grouchy in public, but much faster than putting together a comparable snack from whatever else is in my fridge/pantry. But this is no 100 calorie pack, people. I like to exercise, and I don’t eat meat, but nobody promised you diet food. Enjoy!

