The last week was amazing. You can read about my plans at Jenna’s blog here. It was great. We had sunny adventures on the high seas with lots of time for reading great books in interesting places.

Along the way, I read an essay by Charlotte Bronte about her sister, Emily’s, only novel, Wuthering Heights (Yep. I finally finished it.) in which I came across the quotation above.

Now, I’m not a creative writer. I admit it. (Those who can’t do teach, right?) I do, however, hang out with lots of creative people. I think I’m drawn to people who God gifted with abilities to create.. I thought of these inspirational folks (Jenna, Emily, Tiffany, Kelly, Dana . . . ) when I read on.

Be the work grim or glorious, dread or divine, you have little choice left but quiescent adoption. As for you – the nominal artist – your share in it has been to work passively under dictates you neither delivered nor could question – that would not be uttered at your prayer, nor suppressed nor changed at your caprice. If the result be attractive, the World will praise you, who little deserve praise; if it be repulsive, the same World will blame you, who almost as little deserve blame.

Here, Charlotte is defending Emily from criticism for creating Heathcliff — a character who appears un-redeemable, or at least un-redeemed. Was it right to create this character? Morally? It’s definitely an 18th-century question, but Charlotte gives it a mysteriously timeless answer. Emily may have felt as though she had no choice.

Perhaps, when gifted humans create, the result is not entirely attributable to the human creator. And this doesn’t just work for fiction. All of the arts can and do point us (creator and observer alike) to something much bigger than ourselves.

Thanks for taking the time to read my random thoughts, folks. I do promise to post some pictures and tales from vacation adventures that don’t involve reading essays. (Who am I?)

