Probably, I should allow my sweet friends who think I’m amazing for making pancakes from scratch continue to believe that I slaved over brunch for them. However, I’m going to ruin my rep. Here’s the (easy) pancake recipe I used this morning. No mixes for me!

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups milk or soy milk (Note: soy milk cooks so well!)
  • 3 tablespoons cooking oil
  • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries

Instructions

  • In a large bowl stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture. In another bowl use a fork to combine egg, milk, and oil. Add egg mixture all at once to flour mixture. Stir until just moistened (batter should be slightly lumpy). Stir in blueberries, or try other fruit! Apples? Banana? Peach?
  • Pour about 1/4 cup batter onto a hot, lightly greased skillet or griddle. Makes 12 standard-size pancakes.

*Recipe stolen adapted from Anyone Can Cook, by Better Homes and Gardens*

